Batley and Spen by-election results: When will the winner be announced?

THE constituency of Batley and Spen in Yorkshire has been a Labour stronghold for 24 years.

That could be about to change though, if the polls are to believed.

Tracy Brabin had a Labour majority of 3,500 before she stepped down as an MP

Tracy Brabin had a Labour majority of 3,500 before she stepped down as an MPCredit: Reuters

When is the Batley and Spen by-election?

Voters in the constituency go to the polls on July 1, 2021 to elect a new MP.

They have a sizeable list of 16 candidates to choose from.

Polling suggests the Conservatives could snatch the seat from Labour which could increase the pressure on Sir Keir Starmer after his party lost in Hartlepool and lost its deposit in Chesham and Amersham.

Labour currently holds the seat with a majority just over 3,500.

A recent poll by Survation put the Conservatives on 47 per cent of the vote, with Labour on 41.

George Galloway’s Workers Party trailed with just six per cent in third place and the Liberal Democrats came in fourth with three per cent.

According to bookies Ladbrokes the Tories are “overwhelming favourites” to gain the seat, giving them odds of 1/5, with Labour’s Kim Leadbeater chalked up at 7/2 for a much-needed Labour victory.

When will the winner of the Batley and Spen by-election be announced?

As with any election the time of when the result will be announced cannot be predicted with any accuracy.

With most by-elections though a result should be known in the early hours of the following day.

Counting could take longer than usual though due to Covid restrictions.

A total of 16 candidates are vying to take over from Brabin in the constituency

A total of 16 candidates are vying to take over from Brabin in the constituencyCredit: PA

Who are the candidates?

There is a whopping list of 16 candidates all hoping to get elected to Westminster.

The full list of candidates is:

  • Paul Bickerdike – Christian Peoples Alliance
  • Mike Davies – Alliance For Green Socialism
  • Jayda Fransen – Independent
  • George Galloway – Workers Party
  • Tom Gordon – Liberal Democrats
  • Thérèse Hirst – English Democrats
  • Howling Laud Hope – The Official Monster Raving Loony Party
  • Susan Laird – Heritage Party
  • Kim Leadbeater – Labour Party
  • Oliver Purser – Social Democratic Party
  • Corey Robinson – Yorkshire Party
  • Andrew Smith – Rejoin EU
  • Ryan Stephenson – Conservative Party
  • Jack Thomson – UK Independence Party
  • Jonathan Tilt – Freedom Alliance
  • Anne Marie Waters – The For Britain Movement

More details on the candidates can be found here.

Why is there a by-election in Batley and Spen?

A by-election had to be called after the standing MP, Labour’s Tracy Brabin was elected mayor of West Yorkshire in May this year.

With Brabin winning the vote to become mayor it meant she had to stand down as an MP in Westminster.

She received the most first and second preference votes, with a total of 310,923.

She beat second-place candidate – the Conservative’s Matt Robinson – by 101,786 votes.

Fresh by-election woe for Keir Starmer as former Coronation Street actress MP Tracy Brabin becomes West Yorkshire mayor