Archivos de etiquetas: Batley

Batley and Spen by-election results: Who won?

LABOUR managed to hold on to the Yorkshire seat of Batley and Spen with voters sending Kim Leadbeater to Parliament.

Leadbeater picked up 13,296 votes a majority of just 323 votos.

Labour's Kim Leadbeater celebrated victory in the by-election

Labour’s Kim Leadbeater celebrated victory in the by-election

Who won the Batley and Spen by-election?

Voters in the constituency went to the polls on July 1, 2021 to elect a new MP.

The seat was held by Labour with their candidate Kim Leadbeater being returned to Parliament.

Leadbeater picked up 13,296 votos, a majority of 323 votos.

Leadbeater is the sister of Jo Cox, who had been the MP for the seat before she was murdered in the constituency in 2016.

Labour’s Tracy Brabin the previous MP for the area had a majority of 3,500 votos.

The Conservative candidate Ryan Stephenson came second with 12,973 and George Galloway, standing for the Workers Party, third with 8,264.

los Liberal Democrats came in fourth with three per cent.

Labour leader Sir Kier Starmer hailed the victory as afantastic result“.

Sir Kier said: “Kim ran a positive campaign of hope, in the face of division.

She will be an outstanding Labour MP for Batley and Spen.

Voters had a sizeable list of 16 candidates to choose from.

Polling suggested the Conservatives could snatch the seat from Mano de obra which could increase the pressure on Sir Keir Starmer after his party lost in Hartlepool y lost its deposit in Chesham and Amersham.

A recent poll by Survation put the Conservatives on 47 per cent of the vote, with Labour on 41.

According to the bookies Ladbrokes the Tories were “overwhelming favourites” to gain the seat, giving them odds of 1/5, with Labour’s Kim Leadbeater chalked up at 7/2 for a much-needed Labour victory.

The Conservative candidate Ryan Stephenson had to settle for second place

The Conservative candidate Ryan Stephenson had to settle for second placeCrédito: Getty

Who were the candidates?

There was a whopping list of 16 candidates all hoping to get elected to Westminster.

The full list of candidates were:

  • Paul BickerdikeChristian Peoples Alliance
  • Mike DaviesAlliance For Green Socialism
  • Jayda FransenIndependent
  • George GallowayWorkers Party
  • Tom GordonLiberal Democrats
  • Thérèse HirstEnglish Democrats
  • Howling Laud HopeThe Official Monster Raving Loony Party
  • Susan LairdHeritage Party
  • Kim LeadbeaterLabour Party
  • Oliver PurserSocial Democratic Party
  • Corey RobinsonYorkshire Party
  • Andrew SmithRejoin EU
  • Ryan StephensonConservative Party
  • Jack ThomsonUK Independence Party
  • Jonathan TiltFreedom Alliance
  • Anne Marie WatersThe For Britain Movement

More details on the candidates can be found here.

Why was there a by-election in Batley and Spen?

A by-election had to be called after the standing MP, Labour’s Tracy Brabin estaba elected mayor of West Yorkshire in May this year.

With Brabin winning the vote to become mayor it meant she had to stand down as an MP in Westminster.

She received the most first and second preference votes, con un total de 310,923.

She beat second-place candidate – the Conservative’s Matt Robinson – by 101,786 votos.